Life Is A Roller – Coaster – Roland Keating

20.9.18 – 21.10.18

The last few weeks have been an emotional roller-coaster.

IMG_0100IMG_0096IMG_0086

Sad times. There’s a Jaffa shaped hole in my life. My beautiful, old, companion died. He was 21 years old. He was also the little friend who was always there, regardless of ups and downs (and there’s been a lot of those). I loved him to bits and will miss him more than anyone can imagine.

On the nicer side of life: I’ve actually had a holiday. Part one, was a short visit to see a friend in the south of France. Completely different scenery, architecture and dramatic mountains. Bit of a drive, I’m pretty certain GPS took a longer route than needed, but we (Owen and I), enjoyed the trip. En route home we crossed the spectacular Millau bridge.

millau

Part 2 was a week in Cyprus. Doing nothing. Sat in the sun and read a lot! Also won the hotel Bingo – ha ha! Never played before and won 80€ (meal out treat).

holview

Part 3: spent a day in London with Louise. Lovely to see her flat and where she lives. Bit manic though – I must be getting old. Anyway, did some shopping, went to Greenwich, had our nails done etc etc.

Some of you may have read on Face Book that I have had special visitors in recent days. The 3 great grandsons of the original people who built and owned my house, came to stay. It was the first time they had been together here for 60 years. It was quite emotional for them and special for me to host them too. We talked a lot about the house and I have learnt many things about the property and how it was used (e.g. the current utility room was actually the main kitchen, which makes no sense at all!)B fam 1

I’m falling apart. My tooth had to be fixed (not great to go on holiday with a temporary filling which partly disintegrated). Also, finally had a large synovial cyst removed from my right foot. This didn’t quite go to plan either: the Dr couldn’t get the needle in to do the proposed spinal nerve block (‘local anesthetic’), so ended up having a general anesthetic and staying in overnight. My back hurt more than the main op! A few days of dressing changes by the local nurse should do the trick now.

Owen has returned to Suffolk for the time being. So extra quiet in the house now.

SF

A bientot! Going to miss you being around xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment